South by Southwest (SXSW) has announced an initial line-up of 200 or so showcasing artists for the annual music festival in Austin, Texas next year. Seven Scottish bands are among them: Broken Records, Frightened Rabbit, The Law, Tommy Reilly, Trembling Bells, Twin Atlantic and The View. As well as these bands, we also believe that Unicorn Kid and The Phantom Band are planning to make the trip.

At this stage, this information is subject to change and it is expected that quite a few more acts will be announced over the next few weeks. The music festival will take place in Austin from March 17th to March 21st 2010 and Dear Scotland will be there too with all the latest on the Scottish performances and much more.

The full list can be found at

SXSW 2010 Showcasing Bands from Scotland

Initial list announced November 24, 2009

Broken RecordsDear Scotland Interview with Broken Records

Frightened RabbitFrightened Rabbit in Ireland



Trembling BellsTrembling Bells in Denmark

Twin AtlanticDear Scotland Interview with Twin Atlantic

The ViewThe View Heading to Australia

More bands added December 8, 2009

St DeluxeSt Deluxe in Norway with The Telescopes

Fangs –  Dear Scotland Interview with FANGS

Added January 8, 2010


We Were Promised JetpacksDear Scotland Interview with We Were Promised Jetpacks

Kid AdriftOne of Vic’s tips for 2010

Added February 3, 2010

Hudson MohwakeVic Galloway on Hudson Mohawke

Added February 9, 2010

Codeine Velvet

Young FathersVic Galloway on Young Fathers

Colin MacIntyre aka Mull Historical SocietyDear Scotland Interview with Colin MacIntyre

Django DjangoVic Galloway on Django Django


Frightened Rabbit and Vic Galloway at SXSW 2008


Scottish Arts Council at SXSW

Photo Credit : Arden Street